Kinesiology – Weird science or holistic healing?

Kinesiology accordingly to the Australian Kinesiology Association Inc,  ‘encompasses holistic health disciplines which use the gentle art of muscle monitoring to access information about a person’s well being’. Originating in the 1970’s, it combines Western techniques and Eastern wisdom to promote physical, emotional, mental and spiritual health. Kinesiology identifies the elements which inhibits the body’s natural internal energies and accesses the life enhancing potential within the individual.

Huh? So how? It is claimed that kinesiology works with the body’s innate healing intelligence to restore balance and health to neurological and physiological function. Through this modality, profound changes may be experienced emotionally,  mentally and physically, thereby increasing a person’s health and wellbeing.

Research by Dr George Goodheart  DC, in the 1960’s  identified that the practice of muscle testing could elicit information about the body. Early practitioners of kinesiology, such as chiropractors, then applied this understanding using Chinese medicinal techniques like acupressure and the meridian systems and how these systems may or may not be ‘switched on’ for muscle/organ function.

Kinesiology considers the function of the body ‘in relation to’ the Neuro-Lympathic Reflex system, the Neuro-Vascular Reflex system and the Acupuncture Meridian System.

It is frankly a little weird and I wasn’t the only one to express this thought. I had attended a talk by Karen Mazzella, a practice nurse and respected kinesiology practitioner held at the Cancer Council ‘s premises at Dot’s Place in Bunbury and was informed that empirical evidence, clinical research and patient narratives had been collected on the practice of this modality of healing.

I am committed to remain receptive to all healing experiences in what ever shape and form that they take.  To that end I did not read or research further on the subject and while I had not formed any opinion about the veracity of this modality, I was sceptical.

During the first of two deeply relaxing sessions,  I revisited my initial experience in meeting my ex-husband. I was able to emotionally re-connect to feelings of love, hope and joy and to accept the disappointment of love lost and arrive at a point of reflective peace. I certainly did not enter the room with thoughts of doing so.

After the healing and since, I no longer harbour any emotional pain which I had associated with him for many years. Perhaps it has finally been released because of the work that I have done in the past to resolve my anger of betrayal towards him. It is most strange. I am not able to tap into a place that once refused to heal. I am almost ambivalent.

During the second experience, I was keen to focus on learning how to live with uncertainty and to deal with fear. During this session, I experienced sharp nerve pain in my right breast and left arm. It was not dissimilar from the experience when I undertook ‘the cone, the bowl and the gong’ therapy.  It was as if my body wanted to release the held cellular memory of distress for the purpose of ‘balancing’ or moving toward a more integrated state of being.

Kinesiology, it is claimed can assist and often help people with emotional stress, physical imbalances, learning difficulties, nutritional imbalances, relationship difficulties, sport performance, injury prevention, goal setting, phobia, clearing chemical imbalances and food intolerances and assist to commit to self responsibility to live a balanced life.

The previous post features, Dr Charles Krebs who explains his experience of this modality. It is a fascinating science and no doubt in the future a more holistic care plan for recovery will be the norm and not the practice of the few.

 

 

Leave a Reply

